Master of Arts in Economics

Course Overview

M.A. Economics or Master of Arts in Economics is a postgraduate Economics Course. Economics includes a comprehensive and thorough study of Economics as a discipline at an advanced level. This postgraduate degree course generally covers the study of principles of economic theory, micro- and macroeconomics, comparative economic systems, money and banking systems, international economics, quantitative analytical methods, applications to specific industries and public policy issues, etc. M.A. (Economics) is two years duration course and the syllabus is divided into four semesters.

Core Modules

DSCW has had a meritorious history of producing eminent and gifted women before and after partition who have made a distinct and prominent mark in their respective fields.

Semester I (November/December)
1. Paper I Micro Economics-I
2. Paper II Contemporary Issues in Indian Economy-I
3. Paper III Quantitative Methods-I
4. Paper IV Economics of Public Finance

Semester II (April/May)
1. Paper I Micro Economics-II
2. Paper II Contemporary Issues in Indian Economy-II
3. Paper III Quantitative Methods-II
4. Paper IV International Economics

Semester III (November/December)
1. Paper I Macro Economics-I
2. Paper II Economics of Growth and Development-I
3. Paper III (i) Economics of Agriculture-I
(ii) Economics of Industry-I
(iii) Basic Econometrics
(iv) Economics of Population
Economics of Human Resource Development
(v) History of Economic Thought

Semester IV (April/May)
1. Paper I Macro Economics-II
2. Paper II Economics of Growth and Development-II
3. Paper III (i) Economics of Agriculture-II
(ii) Economics of Industry-II
(iii) Mathematical Economics
(iv) Economics of Money and Banking
Economics of Financial Markets & Institutions
(v) Advanced Econometrics

Program Details






Merit Basis


Graduation with 50% from recognized university


4 Semesters (2 years)

From Dignitaries Photo Gallery NAAC / UGC Contact Us Blogs Web Opac
@2013 Dev Samaj College For Women, Ferozpur City
Designed & developed by Department of Computer Science.