M.Sc. Information Technology

Course Overview

M.Sc. Information Technology or Master of Science in Information Technology is a postgraduate Science course. Information technology (IT) is the acquisition, processing, storage and dissemination of vocal, pictorial, textual and numerical information by a microelectronics-based combination of computing and telecommunications. The duration of M.Sc. in Information Technology is mostly of two academic years but it may vary from institute to institute and may be provided on part time basis by certain institutes. The syllabus for the course is divided into three semesters not that of usual four.

Core Modules

DSCW has had a meritorious history of producing eminent and gifted women before and after partition who have made a distinct and prominent mark in their respective fields.

Semester I (November/December)
1. MS-66 Linux Administration and Programming
2. MS-61 Software Engineering
3. MS-62 Computer Algorithms
4. MS-42 Operating System Concepts
5. MS-63 Minor Project Based on 66
6. MS-64 Minor Project Based on 62

Semester II (April/May)
1. MS-45 Advance Java and Network Programming
2. MS-65 E- Commerce and Emerging Trends
3. MS-60 Advanced Database System and MySQL
4. MS-67 Artificial Intelligence
6. MS-56 Minor Project Based on MS-45& MS-60
7. MS-68 Minor Project Based on MS-67

Semester III (November/December)
1. MS-32 .NET Framework and C#
2. MS-69 Theory of Computation
3. MS-39 Computer Graphics
4. MS-14 Systems Approach to Management and Optimization Techniques
5. MS-18 Seminar
6. MS-33 Minor Project based on MS-32
7. MS-59 Minor Project Based on MS- 39

Semester IV (April/May)
1. MS-21 Major Project

Program Details






Merit Basis


A person who has passed one of the following examinations shall be eligible to join Part-I (First Semester) of the course:
i. B.C.A. examination from the Panjab University.
ii. B.E./B.Tech. in Computer Science from the Panjab University.


iii. Any other examination of another University recognized by the Syndicate as equivalent to (i) or (ii) above.


4 Semesters (2 years)

From Dignitaries Photo Gallery NAAC / UGC Contact Us Blogs Web Opac
@2013 Dev Samaj College For Women, Ferozpur City
Designed & developed by Department of Computer Science.