Masters of Science in Physics

Course Overview

M.Sc. Physics or Master of Science in Physics is a postgraduate Physics course. Physics is a natural science that involves the study of matter and its motion through space time, along with related concepts such as energy and force. More broadly, it is the general analysis of nature, conducted to understand how the universe behaves. The duration of M.Sc. in Physics is mostly of two academic years but it varies from institute to institute. The Bangalore University, Karnataka is providing in two years. The minimum time to complete the course is also two years. The syllabus is divided into two semesters and it is very important one is being offered by many institutes in the country.

Core Modules

DSCW has had a meritorious history of producing eminent and gifted women before and after partition who have made a distinct and prominent mark in their respective fields.

Semester I (November/December)
1. PHYS411H Mathematical Physics I
2. PHYS412H Classical Mechanics
3. PHYS413H Quantum Mechanics
4. PHYS414H Electronics I
5. PHYS415H Physics Laboratory I
6. PHYS416H Computational Physics I

Semester II (April/May)
1. PHYS421H Mathematical Physics II
2. PHYS422H Statistical Mechanics
3. PHYS423H Relativistic Quantum Mechanics & Quantum Field Theory
4. PHYS424H Classical Electrodynamics
5. PHYS425H Physics Laboratory II
6. PHYS426H Computational Physics II

Semester III (November/December)
1. PHYS511H Classical Electrodynamics and General Theory of Relativity
2. PHYS512H Condensed Matter Physics I
3. PHYS513H Nuclear Physics I
4. PHYS514H Particle Physics I
5. PHYS515H Electronics II
6. PHYS516H Physics Laboratory II

Semester IV (April/May)
1. PHYS521H Condensed Matter Physics II
2. PHYS522H Nuclear Physics II
3. PHYS523H Particle Physics II
4. PHYS524H Physics Laboratory IV
5. PHYS525H Project **

Program Details






Merit Basis


A Bachelor degree with Physics
Graduation with 50% from recognized university


4 Semesters (2 years)

From Dignitaries Photo Gallery NAAC / UGC Contact Us Blogs Web Opac
@2013 Dev Samaj College For Women, Ferozpur City
Designed & developed by Department of Computer Science.